為安寧療護病人提供呼吸療法

對於患有末期慢性阻塞性肺病和其他晚期心肺疾病的病人而言,呼吸困難(呼吸短促)、咳嗽、胸悶和產生過多黏液不僅僅是症狀而已:這些都會加劇焦慮和恐懼感,降低生活品質,並可導致病情進一步惡化。

許多病人表示,呼吸困難比身體疼痛更令人痛苦。

持照呼吸治療師可為患有晚期肺病或其他晚期心肺疾病的安寧療護病人提供最佳的生命末期療護服務;其他晚期心肺疾病例如:心臟衰竭肌萎縮性脊髓側索硬化症(ALS)肺癌。無論是接受例行氧氣和吸入器治療的病人,還是接受特殊呼吸道護理的病人,都可能有資格獲得安寧療護服務,並可受惠於VITAS Healthcare充滿愛心的生命末期療護的全方位服務。

呼吸治療師可幫助確保您的病人在其生命將盡的最後幾天、幾週和幾個月中可在舒適中度過,無需擔心無法呼吸。

適合末期肺病及心臟疾病患者的解決方案

安寧療護是一種急性後期療護選項,可提供多種療護層級服務,以符合病人的症狀所需和療護目標。

VITAS持照的呼吸治療師提供一系列解決方案,讓您患有晚期心肺疾病的病人可舒適地待在自己家中,無論家是傳統住宅、生活輔助設施、療養院或其他首選的療護環境。

VITAS呼吸治療師是跨科別安寧療護團隊的一員;他們會根據需要前往處理症狀、緩解焦慮、提供肺部衛生服務,以及為照顧者提供適當的照護教育。

呼吸治療師會指導如何適當和安全地使用吸入器和氧氣使用,並概述當出現急性呼吸道症狀時為改善症狀所應採取的步驟,還可幫助病人待在家中,而無需前往急診室和醫院。

此外,VITAS呼吸治療師還會幫助有複雜需求的生命末期心肺疾病病人,提供例如:

  • 雙向氣道正壓機械換氣輔助設備(BiPAP)/睡眠呼吸機(CPAP)
  • 非侵入性呼吸輔助(Trilogy)
  • 氣管切開護理
  • 醫院或居家呼吸器的停用
  • 高流量氧氣治療

在所有安寧療護病人中,多達70%的病人在生命末期時會出現呼吸困難或其他呼吸方面的問題,因此呼吸療法通常對非晚期肺病或心臟病病人有益。

案例研究:呼吸療法和晚期疾病患者

非侵入性呼吸輔助

JS 64歲,患有肌萎縮性側索硬化症、肺炎和呼吸衰竭。在接受安寧療護之前,JS因為社區型肺炎而住院治療並裝有PEG管,她在呼吸器支持下被送回家中。

透過VITAS的幫助,一位呼吸治療師到家中探視JS,並裝設了PRVC模式的呼吸器來幫助解緩她持續咳嗽的情形。呼吸治療師指導她的家人和照顧者如何使用呼吸器、抽吸呼吸道和進行氣切護理。VITAS還將氣切和抽吸用品送至她的家中。

JS持續每週或視需要接受安寧療護團隊的探視。在持續的療護計劃更新、呼吸治療師的探視,以及24/7全天候Telecare服務的支持下,JS和她的家人感到安心和感到VITAS的全力協助。

呼吸器移除

 CJ 79歲,患有慢性阻塞性肺病、心臟病及敗血症。在過去的三個月中,他因肺炎和敗血症住院了兩次。CJ現在的呼吸能力都依賴呼吸器。

在全天候的VITAS加護舒適療護(ICC)的幫助下,CJ在家中接受安寧療護並進行呼吸器移除。呼吸治療師負責監督手術過程,並且會指導CJ的家人進行氣切護理、氧氣治療和抽取呼吸道,以及每個過程需要用到的醫療設備。

在接受安寧療護六天後,CJ在家人和朋友的陪伴下過世;他的家人和朋友還可以獲得13個月的哀傷支持。

高流量氧氣治療

AZ 76歲,患有第四期肺癌。在過去的五個月中,她因肺炎和呼吸短促住院兩次,並且依賴高流量氧氣治療。

AZ接受VITAS的安寧療護,並在ICC的協助下在家中開始進行高流量氧氣治療。呼吸治療師和護士輪班在AZ床邊照顧,以全天候監控她的狀況。必要時,他們會提供藥物以緩解她呼吸困難的情形。呼吸治療師指導AZ家人如何進行舒適護理和相關藥物管理。

在接受安寧療護四天後,AZ在家人和朋友的陪伴下過世;他的家人和朋友還有資格獲得VITAS長達13個月的哀傷支持。

立即信任VITAS,為您的晚期肺和心臟病病人(包括有複雜和特殊呼吸護理需求的病人)提供最佳呼吸護理。

您的病人已準備接受安寧療護?

Respiratory Therapy for Hospice Patients

For patients with end-stage COPD and other advanced cardiopulmonary conditions, dyspnea (shortness of breath), cough, chest tightness, and excessive mucous production represent more than symptoms: Each contributes to heightened anxiety and fear that diminishes quality of life and can lead to further exacerbations.

Many patients report dyspnea to be even more distressing than physical pain.

Licensed respiratory therapists help support the best in end-of-life care for hospice patients with advanced lung disease or other advanced cardiopulmonary conditions such as heart failure, ALS, or lung cancer. Such patients, whether on routine treatments of oxygen and inhalers or specialized respiratory care, may be eligible for hospice and benefit from VITAS Healthcare’s comprehensive approach to compassionate end-of-life care.

Respiratory therapists help ensure your patients spend their final days, weeks, and months in comfort, without fear of being unable to breathe.

Solutions for Patients With Terminal Lung Disease and Cardiac Disease

Hospice is a post-acute care option that offers multiple levels of care to match patients’ symptoms and care goals.

VITAS respiratory therapists provide a range of solutions for your patients with advanced lung disease and advanced cardiac disease in the comfort of their own home, whether home is a traditional residence, assisted living facility, nursing home, or other preferred care setting.

As part of the interdisciplinary hospice team, VITAS respiratory therapists make visits as needed to manage symptoms, ease anxiety, provide pulmonary hygiene, and educate caregivers on appropriate care.

Respiratory therapists provide education on appropriate and safe inhaler and oxygen use, outline steps to take when acute respiratory symptoms occur to improve symptoms, and help patients stay at home and out of the emergency department and hospital.

Additionally, VITAS respiratory therapists help support end-of-life cardiopulmonary patients with complex needs, such as:

  • BiPAP/CPAP
  • Non-invasive ventilation (Trilogy)
  • Tracheotomy care
  • Compassionate hospital or home ventilator discontinuation
  • High-flow oxygen therapy

Up to 70 percent of all hospice patients experience dyspnea or other respiratory issues near the end of life, so respiratory therapy is often beneficial to patients without advanced lung or cardiac disease.

Case Studies: Respiratory Therapy and Advanced Illness Patients

Non-Invasive Ventilation

The patient, JS, is 64 years old with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, pneumonia, and respiratory failure. Prior to hospice, JS was hospitalized for community-acquired pneumonia, fitted with a PEG tube, and sent home on ventilator support.

With support from VITAS, JS is visited at home by a respiratory therapist who sets up a PRVC-mode ventilator to help with her persistent cough. The respiratory therapist educates her family and caregiver on ventilator usage, airway suction, and tracheotomy care. VITAS also delivers tracheotomy and suctioning supplies to her home.

JS continues to receive hospice team visits on a weekly or as-needed basis. With ongoing care plan updates, respiratory therapist visits, and 24/7 Telecare support, JS and her family feel comforted and supported by VITAS.

Ventilator Removal

The patient, CJ, is 79 years old with COPD, heart disease, and sepsis. He has been hospitalized twice in the past three months for pneumonia and sepsis. CJ’s ability to breathe is now dependent on a ventilator.

With help from round-the-clock VITAS Intensive Comfort Care® (ICC), CJ receives hospice care at home and undergoes vent removal. A respiratory therapist oversees the procedure and educates CJ’s family on tracheotomy care, oxygen therapy, airway suction, and the medical equipment involved with each process.

After six days on hospice, CJ dies surrounded by family and friends, who can receive up to 13 months of grief support.

High-Flow Oxygen Therapy

The patient, AZ, is 76 years old with Stage IV lung cancer. Hospitalized twice in the past five months for pneumonia and shortness of breath, she relies on high-flow oxygen therapy.

AZ is admitted to hospice with VITAS and begins high-flow oxygen therapy at home with assistance from ICC. A respiratory therapist and nurse take shifts at AZ’s bedside to monitor her condition around the clock. When necessary, they provide medication to relieve her dyspnea. The respiratory therapist educates AZ’s family on comfort care and the administration of appropriate medications.

After four days on hospice, AZ dies surrounded by family and friends, who are eligible for up to 13 months of grief support from VITAS.

Trust VITAS today to deliver the best in respiratory care for your advanced lung and heart disease patients including those with complex and specialized respiratory care needs.

Is your patient ready for hospice care?